Skip navigation to main content

Coronavirus – what we’re doing & guidance 

Written by Rachael Norris, 12th March 2020

Health and wellbeing are at the heart of The Reader’s work – from our Shared Reading groups around the UK, through to the activities and opportunities at our organisational home in Calderstones Park.  

The safety of the people and communities that are connected through our work is our top priority.  

In response to the coronavirus outbreak, we have set up a dedicated taskforce who are monitoring and staying up to date with UK Government and Public Health England, and following their advice as the situation evolves. 

Looking after each other 

We are encouragingeveryone to continue to follow Public Health England advice on how to stay healthy.  

More information can be found on the NHS Website but here’s a reminder of the key guidance:

  • wash your hands with soap and water often – use hand sanitiser gel if soap and water are not available 
  • cover your mouth and nose with a tissue or your sleeve (not your hands) when you cough or sneeze 
  • put used tissues in the bin straight away and wash your hands afterwards 
  • try to avoid close contact with people who are unwell 

Be aware of spotting the symptoms, which are: 

  • a cough 
  • a high temperature 
  • shortness of breath 

Stay at home for 7 days if you have either:

  • a high temperature
  • a new, continuous cough

Do not go to a GP surgery, pharmacy or hospital.

You do not need to contact 111 to tell them you're staying at home.

Read NHS advice about staying at home.

Guidance for volunteers 

We completely understand that activity leaders might have concerns about continuing to run groups at this time. Please speak to your local hub lead about any concerns you have or if your group is temporarily paused.  

If you’re a Calderstones volunteer with concerns and wish to cancel your shift in the Mansion House, please let us know by sending an email to: calderstonescoordinators@thereader.org.uk 

Here’s a reminder of hub lead contact information: 

Anglesey
Gill Brownson gillbrownson@thereader.org.uk  /  07535 934598


Berkshire
Sue Colbourn suecolbourn@thereader.org.uk / 07977 223552


Bristol
Michael Prior michaelprior@thereader.org.uk / 07949143022


Calderstones
Sophie Verbeke          sophieverbeke@thereader.org.uk07508 702850


Cheshire
Alison Finegan     alisonfinegan@thereader.org.uk  07973 247857


Conwy
Ellie Hughes             elliehughes@thereader.org.uk  /  07535 934619


Gwynedd
Sophie Trow  sophietrow@thereader.org.uk  /   07494 300337


Halton, St Helens, Skelmersdale
Natalie Kaas-Pontoppidan  nataliekaas@thereader.org.uk  / 07494 925045


Knowsley, Sefton
Rachel Sumner rachaelsumner@thereader.org.uk /  07722 539940


Liverpool
Michelle Barrett michellebarrett@thereader.org.uk  / 07986 134682


London, East
Eve Cantor      evecantor@thereader.org.uk / 07939 559954


London, North & South
Suvi Dogra suvidogra@thereader.org.uk / 07812 238375


London, West
Erin Calstrom erincalstrom@thereader.org.uk / 07483 972020


Manchester
Kate Weston kateweston@thereader.org.uk / 07989 257131


Salford
Sally Baker sallybaker@thereader.org.uk / 07484 005102


Somerset
Julie Gaukroger  juliegraukroger@thereader.org.uk  / 07753 816352


South Yorkshire
Shaun Lawrence shaunlawrence@thereader.org.uk / 07970 247226


Wirral
Charlotte Weber charlotteweber@thereader.org.uk  / 07807 106983c


Wigan
Mary Hill maryhill@thereader.org.uk  / 07812 238503


Anywhere else in the UK
Esther Harsh estherharsh@thereader.org.uk  / 07847 796377


For volunteers reading with at risk groups such as in care homes, its highly likely that these settings may be stopping non-essential services. We suggest that you call the group venue to check the latest situation and ask if to be kept informed in case things change. If your group does get temporarily cancelled, please let us know via your hub lead. 

If a group member – or a member of the public – is worried and comes to you for advice about the virus, we encourage you to direct them to the public health information available.  

If you wish to contact your group members because you want to cancel your group, we encourage you to do this in the way you usually would.  

We will be collecting details of any groups and activities that will have to temporarily close and publishing this on this website, as well as posting updates to our social media channels as needed. 

What we’re doing at Calderstones 

We’ve taken a number of actions to ensure safety across our Calderstones site. The situation is being monitored on a daily basis to ensure we’re doing the best we can to keep everyone safe: 

  • Educating our staff on prevention. 
  • There is a designated room on the ground floor of the Mansion House for anyone on site who is taken ill, and needs to immediately self-isolate.   
  • Increased signage in toilet facilities and in public areas with public health messaging.   
  • Radar keys have been chained to the outside toilets so hand wash facilities are easily accessible.  
  • Cleaning high contact points more frequently 
  • Policies reinforced in the Café and new steps taken to prevent contamination and spread. 

We don’t currently have any plans to cancel any activities for health reasons but we will follow government advice and update you as necessary. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Important Updates

An update from The Reader Café Team 

  As we continue to work through the details of how we can safely re-open the Mansion House, we’re making some changes to our service at The…

Read more
Important Updates

An update on Shared Reading groups and activities

Government guidelines have recently been changed to allow some easing of social distancing and places like libraries and cultural venues…

Read more
Important Updates

The Reader Cafe and Mansion House – site update

The Reader Café in the Calderstones Mansion House has now reopened with a new takeaway menu providing drinks and snacks. The Reader Café, followed by…

Contact us

Get in touch and be part of the story
You can also speak to us on: 0151 729 2200
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.