Skip navigation to main content

2010 Dylan Thomas Prize Announced

Written by jen, 19th February 2010

The competition is underway for the 2010 Dylan Thomas Prize, the world's top literary prize for young writers. The annual prize, named in honor of the famous Welsh writer and poet, and sponsored by the government of Wales, brings with it international prestige as well as a cash award of £30,000 ($46,000).

The Prize honors its shortlist finalists and annual winner for published work in the broad range of literary forms in which Dylan Thomas excelled, including poetry, prose, fictional drama, short story collections, novels, novellas, stage plays and screenplays.

The official launch of the 2010 Prize will take place this year at a ceremony and reception hosted at the British Consulate-General in Boston on March 1. Special guests and speakers will include Harvard Review Editor Christina Thompson, Tessa Dahl and former U.S. Poet Laureate Robert Pinsky.

Entries for the competition must be submitted by the publisher, editor, literary agent, or in the case of produced film scripts and stage plays, by the producer. Writers must be 18-30 years old, and the literary works must have been published within the past year to be eligible for competition.

Submission deadline is April 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Contact us

Get in touch and be part of the story
You can also speak to us on: 0151 729 2200
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.